The Most Quotable Book of the Year

Y’all bear with me as I try to write this with my mind missing. It was blown away by Born a Crime: Stories of a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah.

29booknoah-master180

Let me begin by saying that I don’t watch The Daily Show due to my severe distaste for the news… even funny news. Because literally… it’s all so depressing. So, I came to this book completely ignorant of who Trevor Noah was and what he did for a living. I read it simply because apartheid is something I feel like I know about but don’t really get. I felt like I should understand it better… Plus, it was billed as being funny and who can resist the dichotomy of a funny story about apartheid?

From page one, I was hooked.

It didn’t bother me that the stories weren’t linear. Even the language didn’t bother me because I don’t think you can tell this story any other way. It would fall flat.

If my brain could’ve provided a running commentary of this book as I was reading it, then it would’ve gone a little something like:

Wow. 

Seriously?

You’re joking!

Literally, I hope you’re joking because I can’t believe I’m laughing at this.

Seriously, stop laughing… You should not be laughing at this.

Wow, I think I’m crying now.

When did I start crying?

**You get the gist.**

What really blew my mind is that Trevor Noah is my age. While I was living my cushy life in America… watching Ninja Turtles, swishing around school in my pastel wind suit, drinking Surge behind my parents’ back, THIS was happening across the globe in South Africa. It’s unbelievable. How could I not have known this?

Most importantly, what is happening right now that I don’t know about?

The thought is terrifying.

I’m not sure if this was my favorite book of the year, but I’m billing it as the most quotable. It’s too bad I had a library copy because, otherwise, I would have highlighted the whole thing.

“People love to say, “Give a man a fish, and he’ll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he’ll eat for a lifetime.” What they don’t say is, ‘And it would be nice if you gave him a fishing rod.’ That’s the part of the analogy that’s missing.”
― Trevor NoahBorn a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood

I’m so glad I read this book. It delivered exactly what I want in a book — opened my mind up to new thoughts, experiences and realities and taught me the things I didn’t know I was missing.

Thank you, Trevor Noah, for sharing this beautiful, heartbreaking story and giving us all a little bit of humor along the way.

Leave a Reply

