Quirky Works for Me

jonathan-unleashed

So, sometimes I read a book and I like it, but heck if I know why. This is one of those books. I *think* I found it on Pinterest? I wanna say a must-read list for dog lovers? I am the type of person that loves a good dog-centric book. No shame in admitting it. Some people like romance, others just want a puppy or two. (Except, sometimes I feel like authors get a little sloppy and figure… hey… you’re a dog lover and here are cute dogs that you’ll like… so, let’s forget about any sort of plot, pacing or characterization.)

This book wasn’t that way.

It wasn’t sloppy, but it wasn’t mind-blowing either. It didn’t make me cry, didn’t make laugh… but, it was quirky. And, I think I’ve figured out that quirky works for me. I genuinely liked the main character Jonathan. I really liked the dogs. (It bugged me a bit that the cover dog looks like a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and not a cocker spaniel like in the book, but meh…)

I rooted for Jonathan and I was satisfied with the ending, even if it was both far-fetched and predictable.

Sometimes, you just need a book that’s the equivalent of potato salad.

Tasty, predictable, likable potato salad.

Leave a Reply

