The Magic of a Bubble

bubble

I think you have bath women and shower women.

I am of the bath variety.

I love to take a hot bath at the end of the day. I love to take a hot bath when I’m sick or have a headache or need a good cry. I love to take a hot bath when I have a good book that needs reading. I love to have a hot bath when I’ve found a new scented bubble bath I love. I love to take a hot bath when I need to shave my legs, deep condition my hair or any other sort of luxury that reminds me that I’m a woman.

It’s been a habit in my marriage to sometimes take a hot bath with KJ, for no other reason than to talk and laugh with each other.

When we were house shopping several years ago, I was shocked to discover that some homes *only* have showers! (Gasp! Why?!) I quickly let my realtor know that this was a dealbreaker. All the granite in the world couldn’t make up for a bathtub!

I’m getting off on a tangent. This post really isn’t about a bathtub. It’s about a bubble.

Last night, I was taking a bath. I had washed my hair and body just prior to filling the tub up, so there were some bubbles, but not much. So, when I finally leaned back in the tub, it caught my attention to see two little bubbles floating in the air. One, in particular, caught my attention.

I watched it as it floated along. It would near the surface of something and I’d think, it’s going to pop, but just at the last minute, it would change course. It slowly and steadily rose up to the ceiling near our air vent. Again, I thought it would pop. But, it didn’t.

I kept watching, at this point mesmerized. This little bubble had my full attention.

Slowly, it descended.

And, through a meandering, unpredictable course it landed… right on my lips!

After it gently grazed my lips, the air I’d exhaled ever so slightly blew it toward the water at my side, where it settled as a perfect little sphere on the water.

The moment it touched me, I was filled with a warmth and peace that I can’t describe. It felt like magic. Something magical just happened. I didn’t know what or why, but it had.

This morning I called my mom to tell her about the bubble. I have the amazing sort of parents who don’t think anything is strange about a spiritual encounter with a bubble.

As I finished talking my mom said, “You know, my mother loved a bubble bath. She took one every night. When she was paralyzed for the year before she died, that’s what she always said was the worst part of it — that she couldn’t soak in the tub. And, she always did love to kiss on the lips!”

I remember that.

My mamaw did kiss on the lips. My pawpaw did, too.

I don’t know if that bubble was a little kiss from my mamaw. I don’t know if it was just a little divine reminder to be present and pay attention to life’s little magic tricks. I don’t know if it was just a little token of love from God.

But, there was a little piece of joy in that little bubble. And, I’m glad I caught it.

Leave a Reply

